Optimized Startup Flags for consistent Garbage Collection

Reposting my posts I have in the Paper & Spigot community here!
EDIT: Please see https://mcflag.emc.gs for updated content.

Many months ago, I did an extremely extensive study into Garbage Collection and Minecraft, and got a really deep understanding on Minecrafts allocation behavior, general object life expectancy and collection rates. I studied my server for about an entire month.

I tweaked various settings, studying the GC log files, studying the various flags documentation, and other performance tuning case studies, and then even better: using the VisualVM plugin VisualGC, that lets you visually see how each region of the garbage collector fills up and collects.

This insight was amazing and let me truly understand how the GC was behaving, and learn how to overall improve the garbage collector efficiency.

These flags are based on my study, and have strong reasoning behind them to actually have an intended behavior change of the Garbage Collector and Performance Settings.

Many servers in the Paper & Spigot community have started using these and reported improvements (And those who donā€™t notice, probably wasnā€™t doing too bad to begin with)

The goal of these flags is not to reduce overall CPU usage, as G1 does use more CPU than CMS, but this CPU usage is parallel, so not ā€˜directlyā€™ main thread. The goal here is to provide CONSISTENT, low pauses, and avoid Old Gen collections as much as possible. Improperly tuned GC that ends up collecting Old Gen could see many 1 second long GC collections, which your players will notice!

Also NOTE: Memory usage will be a saw blade / zig zag! G1 does not constantly collect. It only collects when one region fills up, so this is normal:

(Graph provided by Zabbix Server Monitoring Software with JMX agent integration)
During low activity, it will appear as memory is higher, as it simply takes longer between every GC pause - THIS IS A VERY GOOD THING!