Appaling performance

Hi everyone. I’ve been using Sponge server for a couple of months now. The last time i hosted a server it was a cauldron 1.7.10 server, if i remember correctly.

Anyway, my first server hardware was a Pentium IV HT 640, 1GB of DDR400 memory, and a shitty IDE 5400RPM platter. Server 2003
My internet connection at the time was ADSL2+, 10mb down and 800kb up.

It was able to manage up to 15 players in vanilla, and around 5 or 6 with mods and around 40 bukkit plugins.

Then i upgraded to a Core2 Quad Q6600, 4GB of DDR2-800 and a 7200RPM SATAII drive. Server 2008 R2. I upgraded my internet connection to VDSL2, 30mb down, 1.5mb up. Now i could double those user numbers with ease, and still use the server for CSS servers, Killing Floor servers, Web servers, even PLEX would work.

Then, i decided i wanted to start playing Minecraft with friends again, so i looked into Sponge. I downloaded the “4.1.0-SNAPSHOT-3e39b9c” version, configured it, and installed IC2, Buildcraft, TMI (Or NEI? Or other thing, cant remember), and a couple of plugins (MC edit, Sign Shop, and little more).

The game couldnt even handle 3 players without constantly stopping and even crashing. My CPU would max out and even if i gave it 2GB out of 4GB, it would still want more. Draw distance set at 7.

So, i thought, “time to upgrade the server”!. And so i did:

CPU: Xeon 5660 (6C/12T @ 2.8Ghz, 3.2 Turbo)
RAM: 6x4GB DDR3-1866 (24GB total).
SSD: Patriot 128GB
Connection: FTTH 300mb down 30mb up

And the game runs much better, BUT… i still get the occasional 2s or 3s lag spike from time to time (maybe once every couple of minutes… PER PLAYER)… EVEN INSIDE MY LAN (wired, 1gb).

Why is this happening? it should be smooth as butter. None of the trheads ever go north of 10% usage, and normaly, they are at 0-2%.

You are using an outdated build. You need to download the latest SpongeForge build at

http://files.minecraftforge.net/spongepowered