Beginner to development

Hi all,

I’m very new to sponge, officially setting up my first sponge server at the moment. I have always used Spigot so this is a whole new world for me. I specifically need sponge due to it being a Modded server that I took over for someone else (just now upgrading from a 1.7.10 Thermos to 1.11.2 Sponge)

I’ve noticed that there aren’t a lot of useful plugins like Spigot has. Mainly things like AutoRank is a big one that I’d like to see but simply can’t find like the one that exists on Spigot.

Thing is, I’ve never made a plugin before. I don’t really know Java either. I took some basic programming courses throughout my life such as in high school and while attending Penn State so I generally get the gist of variables, classes, etc.

I’d like to know where everyone thinks the best spot for me to start learning would be. I did a CASUAL search and found a sponge development video from 2014 reading the comments people say things like Subscribe and Initialize are out dated.

So just curious if there’s anywhere good to start learning from someone that has absolutely minimal coding experience. Again I don’t know a lot but I’m not a COMPLETE beginning. I get syntax, terminology etc.

Prefer video over reading, I’m an Audio/ Visual learner compared to a textual learner.

Thanks guys.

Welcome to the weird world of Sponge! A good starting point is the SpongeDocs.

There are some tutorials thanks to @sibomots, who may have more to offer. There’s also the #spongedev channel on IRC, and Sponge Discord if you need help. Good Luck!

You forgot to link that last one, silly.

Sponge Discord

Yea, I can do whatever it takes to help out. Drop me a line if you don’t see a “tutorial” in video form that walks through what is in the documentation.