Bukkit 1.8 Released by Spigot Team

As you may have heard, the spigot team has released a working version of 1.8 Spigot and Craftbukkit. I’m more interested in Craftbukkit as that’s what I came from. It broke a couple plugins, but the Spigot team updated the ones they know about for us. It’s kind of a weird process to download it, but it worked and I was able to update my server. I’m excited I have something to hold me over until sponge is released, and reliable!

http://www.spigotmc.org/threads/bukkit-craftbukkit-spigot-1-8.36598/

Here are some discussion points i’d like to see touched :^)

Legality of them distributing this

Bugs/Problems encountered

Hype

If this isn’t an appropriate topic let me know and delete my thread mods.

As I have no legal background, I have no idea whether or not what they are doing is legal.

A problem I encountered is they updated Essentials to have Essentials_Spawn as a seperate plugin. I couldn’t figure out what was controlling my spawn area for a while because I was dumb. Other than that I’ve had no issues apart from an exception in the console every so often. Runs smooth™

I’m hyped to have 1.8 working until Sponge can come to a full/beta/reliable’ish release.

1 Like

Ive seen a few things about spigot… Like how enchanting doesn’t(/didn’t) work and they may receive more legal notices

Still should be interesting how things go for the next few months

3 Likes

I havn’t even tested out the enchanting yet, but I think I saw something about that too. Might be fixed now. I got what i need though, a workingish™ version of 1.8 to hold me over until Sponge is ready.

I talk about the new legal issues here. (And another claim by wolvereness, yay…)

1 Like

I’ve been using Essentials before 1.8 and Essentials_Spawns was already a separate plugin(there is the core essentials and 7 modules including groupmanager).