[Solved] MySQL connection

Hey guys!

I’m very new to Sponge and I recently started programming in Java, which is why I don’t really know how things exactly work, but I’d like to figure it out.

I’ want to establish a MySQL connection using the Sponge API, but I can’t make it work for me. I’ ve got this:

ResultSet rs;
    private Game game;
    private SqlService sql;
    public DataSource getDataSource(String jdbcUrl) throws SQLException  {

if(sql == null)
            {
                sql = game.getServiceManager().provide(SqlService.class).get();
            }

return sql.getDataSource(jdbcUrl);

}

And

@Subscribe
public void onSomeEvent(SomeEvent e) throws SQLException
{
      Connection conn = getDataSource("jdbc:mysql://myuser:mypass@localhost:3306/mydatabase").getConnection();

try
       {
           rs=conn.prepareStatement("SELECT something FROM mytable WHERE something='something'").executeQuery();
       } finally {
           conn.close();
       }
}

The rest of the plugin runs fine, but as soon as this event is triggered I get a NullPointerException… What am I doing wrong? (btw I got this code from the Sponge docs)

Where are you setting your “game” variable?

You will either need to listen to an event and set it, or use injection from your main plugin class.

https://docs.spongepowered.org/en/plugin/basics/injection.html?highlight=game

1 Like

I would imagine the NullPointerException is being thrown from here:

rs=conn.prepareStatement("SELECT something FROM mytable WHERE something='something'").executeQuery();

The reason I say that, is because it’s the first attempt to use the potentially null object which you get from here:

sql = game.getServiceManager().provide(SqlService.class).get();

You need to check that the value is actually present.

Optional<SqlService> sql = game.getServiceManager().provide(SqlService.class)
if (sql.isPresent()) {
    // do sql stuff
}