[Solved] TileEntity.getType() not working for me

I have a problem with the TileEntity:getType() function. It’s described here (https://docs.spongepowered.org/en/plugin/basics/blocks/tileentities.html), but it isn’t working for me. If i call getType() on a TileEntity eclipse says, that this method is not defined.

My Code:

@Subscribe
    public void onPlayerInteractBlock (PlayerInteractBlockEvent event) {
        if (event.getInteractionType().getName() == "USE" ){
            Optional<TileEntity> clickedEntity = event.getBlock().getTileEntity();
            if(clickedEntity.getType() == TileEntityTypes.SIGN){
                log.info("OMG, it's a sign!");
            }    
        }
    }

Error:

What did I wrong?

if((TileEntity) clickedEntity.getType() == TileEntityTypes.SIGN){

So you only need to cast? I though with Optionals you need to do
clickedEntity.get().getType()

3 Likes

Thank you^^ I’m new in Java.

This thread is such a train-wreck…

@Subscribe
public void onPlayerInteractBlock (PlayerInteractBlockEvent event) {
  // use .equals() not ==
  if (event.getInteractionType().getName().equals("USE")) {
    Location block = event.getBlock();
    if (block.hasTileEntity()) {
      // the get() is finally safe here since we know it's supposed to exist
      TileEntity clickedEntity = block.getTileEntity().get();
      // once again use .equals() not ==
      if (clickedEntity.getType().equals(TileEntityTypes.SIGN)) {
        log.info("OMG, it's a sign!");
      }
    }
  }
}

EDIT: Let me explain why this way is the “most correct” way:

1. The entire point of using optionals is in wrapping return values that have a chance at not existing. Calling get() is unsafe unless you are sure that the optional exists. Given that not every clicked block has a tile entity, I would say that this is an unsafe assumption.