[OUTDATED] The Complete Beginner's Guide to Sponge

The Complete Beginner’s Guide to Sponge!##

(last updated 6 November 2014)
All information in this post is subject to change.

(Moderation Edit) ** PLEASE NOTE: **

This guide is no longer updated and therefore lacking new information plus may contain (now) false information. Please head over to the SpongeDocs to get the latest information including updates.

Introduction

Hello everyone! My name is Tmad and I’m a server owner. Yes, that’s right - just a server owner - no coding here. Never touched a single line of code in my life. Then what am I doing here on the Sponge forums, you ask? Well, the end goal for Sponge is… you know, to run servers with it, right? Right! So I have been REALLY confused and lost as to the state of Sponge and what I am going to do with it as a server owner. I tried to search around and find information, but it didn’t seem very organized. Cool story bro, so what am I posting this for? For you, of course! I’m making this topic so that you can have one central place to come and learn about the current state of Sponge - without having to learn code or use the search box for literally hours.

The Most Common Questions

What is Sponge?

Sponge is an API (Application Programming Interface) created for Minecraft. Sponge enhances the basic Minecraft server that you probably already use. With Sponge, developers and coders are able to write “plugins” that extend the functionality of the bare-bones Minecraft server, and allow you to do things like teleporting, setting warps, virtual money, and much, much more.

That sounds just like Bukkit. Why can’t I just use Bukkit?

As of 3 September 2014, CraftBukkit (the server version of Bukkit - another API similar to Sponge) is no longer available for download due to legal issues. It is no longer possible to download and start a server using Bukkit.