Why is GUI-creation code so messy?

/mr []ing w/
i am new to writing GUI code, so some tips would be helpful. but geez, looking at this entire thing, i feel like it could be done a lot better; yet, i don’t know how. it looks like its just supposed to be messy.

Moved to Off-Topic, as this isn’t related to Minecraft.

5 Likes

Shouldn’t be. Use OO to fix your mess :). These prepare methods could be classes.

as per description of the gist

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

yay, time for extensive research in jfx documentation

if you have any reference links for examples or guides on this, would be nice :c

untested:

public class MenuBarItem extends MenuBar{
   public MenuBarItem(){
       // Head menu item
        Menu fileMenu = MenuBuilder.create().text("File").build();

MenuItem fileMenuNew = MenuItemBuilder.create().text("New").build();
        MenuItem fileMenuOpen = MenuItemBuilder.create().text("Open").build();
        // separator
        SeparatorMenuItem sep1 = new SeparatorMenuItem();
        // -- submenu: import
        Menu fileMenuSubImport = MenuBuilder.create().text("Import from..").build();
        MenuItem fileMenuSubImportFile = MenuItemBuilder.create().text("Permissions file").build();
        MenuItem fileMenuSubImportPlugins = MenuItemBuilder.create().text("Sponge Plugin directory").build();

// -- submenu: export
        Menu fileMenuSubExport = MenuBuilder.create().text("Export to..").build();
        MenuItem fileMenuSubExportFile = MenuItemBuilder.create().text("Permissions file").build();
        MenuItem fileMenuSubExportDefinitions = MenuItemBuilder.create().text("Node definitions").build();
        // separator
        SeparatorMenuItem sep2 = new SeparatorMenuItem();
        // menu items: saving
        MenuItem fileMenuSaveAs = MenuItemBuilder.create().text("Save as..").build();
        MenuItem fileMenuSave = MenuItemBuilder.create().text("Save").build();
        // separator