BukkitDev for Sponge!?

Hello guys! CraftThatBlock here a relatively well known member on Spigot. :smile:

As I am a web developer, and I am part of the Spigot community, and I see a lot of potential into the Sponge project, I would like to make my part into it.

My Java days are still here, but web is mostly what I have been doing lately, so Iā€™d like make something for Spongeā€¦

A DevBukkit for Sponge!

This would have similar functions as the original one, but with more features, and a lot more community driven. It possibly will be open-source (havenā€™t decided yet) and will definitely be hearing from Sponge.

So I have a few questions for you guys about all of this:

• What should it be called? (I was thinking about SpongeDev or something)
  • Do you think it is essential for it to be open source?
  • What features should it have? Would should it have that BukkitDev doesnā€™t have?
  • And most importantly, should this be even considered?

Thanks guys. Love yā€™all <3

10 Likes

I like the idea, BukkitDev was REALLY useful. Iā€™m a web developer too, and if open source, iā€™ll definitely help with it.

Name Suggestions: Sponge Plugins, Sponge Projects, SpongeDev ā€¦ ?

I think it should have the same features of BukkitDev with things like ā€œTop Downloaded Pluginsā€ā€¦

2 Likes

BukkitDev was extremely useful, I think this or something similar is a next-to requirement for sponge.

I may be able to help if you choose to do it the java/ajax way. Iā€™m skilled in JEE and recently started with AngularJS, ping me if these skills are useful.