CompassMode (Bukkit) to Sponge/Forge

Hello!

I saw on planetminecraft a plugin called “CompassMode” which allows the server admin to set the compass behavior per player / zone / whatever.

What I really need is to be able to let the compass point to the bed, rather than to the respawn point.

In my opinion, this could even be an exercise in order to practice with Sponge/Forge/Minecraft plugin creation (I’m new to Minecraft, but not to Java).

May anyone please help me creating this mod? I don’t even know if it’d be better to create a new compass (maybe different materials?) or overriding the original one…

There’s always the TargetedLocationData in the API that allows you to modify where a Player's compass points do (since all it does is point to the understood respawn location according to what the server tells the client). So it’s entirely feasible to have it point to any bed location you wish, through the API.

Of course, however, if you want the compass to be different from a normal compass, then by all means, a Forge mod is the way to go (making a new item).

Hello gabizou, thanks for the reply :slight_smile:

So first of all, as I understand, this is a client/server mod, or just a client one? I can imagine the server has to have the new compass entry, at least.

Depends. If you want:

• to modify the direction the vanilla compass is facing, then

• you create a serverside plugin

• client stays unmodified (vanilla)

• to create a super-duper fancy custom compass, then

• you need to modify the client, preferably with a Forge mod.

Ok, so to keep things cleaner (also from a server point of view), maybe I’d start with a Forge plugin for the client. Which is in any case something that will teach me more about Sponge too, being it based on top of Forge, right?

Now the next step seems to be “how to override the Compass behavior”.

Sponge as it stands is strictly a server API.