Hello from a time traveler, you're awesome!

I just wanted to drop in and say that everyone here is awesome!

I was a plugin developer for bukkit about 5 years ago. I learned Java from the growing and exciting community it had at the time. (Spoiler: This eventually got me my first job after school!) When it seemed like bukkit and minecraft would always be soulmates, Mojang started talking again about the mythical modding API, started adding tons of features for map makers, and became very uncooperative with the bukkit community. I got a little discouraged and very busy with my final years of school, so I wandered off for a while.

Once things settled down I started to miss making fun stuff for other people to play with. I finished up a project that I had abandoned the year before and released a beta version. Someone had already taken my idea and run with it, but I didn’t mind. I congratulated him on a job well done and offered to collaborate.

About a week later, the big implosion happened. Someone made a vague reference to something someone said that might mean everyone’s given up on bukkit.

I thought, “You’re just a cynical neckbeard, right? Right?!”

I remember reading every forum thread I could find (which was a whopping total of 2), trying to figure out what was going on. All speculation. Some “this guy said that.” It might mean something, it might not. Not really sure what’s happening. Then I found the IRC chat.

“This crap is ridiculous.”

“So is this the end of plugins?”

“Well, there’s spout.”

“No, bukkit’s not going anywhere. This sucks, but it can’t die.”

“It looks dead. I poked it. It’s dead.”

“Isn’t spout based on bukkit or something?”

“Spout hasn’t really caught on, but maybe it’s the only option.”

…
…
…

“This is stupid.”

“Hey guys… um, what’s going on?”

“Someone should start a new one, without all the licensing issues.”

“Open source. I can’t believe there isn’t already an open source one, really.”

…