How did you start programming?

Some idea for discussion:

• When did you begin programming, and why?
  • What was the first open-source project you contributed to?

I started with this in school: http://www.swisseduc.ch/compscience/karatojava/index.html

The first open-source project I contributed to was my own project ChunkClaim, a Bukkit protection plugin.

I haven’t really been coding in Java, but with PHP I started with that about 10 years ago with coding my own websites in it. As for projects, I haven’t really contributed to any other than my own websites, anything over just some small bug fixes and stuff like that.

When I was 8 years old I was introduced to HTML. One thing led to another and now I code PHP and JS, and I know HTML and a bit of CSS. I’m 17 by now. I’m at the last year of secondary school here at Portugal and only now am I programming at school. I’ve never contributed with code to any project that wasn’t mine or my friends’.

I started coding back about 6-7 years ago with HTML and CSS (and a little JS) although I later got bored of it for a number of years and just spent my time doing other things. Later on I bought minecraft, and later picked up bukkit plugin development. (This was around a year and a half ago) I didn’t really do plugin development consistently back then though as I didn’t really know much about it although I started doing a lot more of it after sponge was announced and I started developing for a server.

The first project that I would consider something I contributed to would be Wormholes, which is an advanced teleportation system plugin that I’m designing with @TBotV63.

I started learning html and php a few weeks ago because I felt like it. Now because of @BitByte and @TBotV63 I have started learning java. They will be forever the ones I thank for helping me learn it. even if java is no longer a language I will remember them.

1 Like