How to manipulate a player's inventory?

I am creating a lobby plugin for my personal server and I want to learn how to manipulate a player’s inventory. There would be menus for customization and other purposes. I have a instance of ItemStackBuilder, but I do not know how to use it. I also have a instance of the players inventory in the first snippet. Let’s say I want a door, named “Return to hub” in the 9th slot of the player. How would I do this? I am quite new to Sponge plugin creation, and Sponge Documenters, you should add the Item api to the SpongeDocs. I would like to thank the Sponge community, especially @TBotV63 and @FerusGrim and @BitByte for answering COUNTLESS questions that I asked.

@Subscribe
    public void onPlayerJoin(PlayerJoinEvent event) {
        Player player = event.getPlayer();
        Location location = player.getLocation();
        World world = player.getWorld();
        Inventory inventory = player.getInventory();
        setWelcomeMessage(event, of(player.getName() + " has joined this server!").builder().color(TextColors.GREEN).build(), createWW1Prefix());
    }
@Inject
    private Game game;

private Server server;
    private Plugin plugin;

protected GameRegistry registry = game.getRegistry();
    protected CommandService cmdService = game.getCommandDispatcher();
    protected ItemStackBuilder itemBuilder = registry.getItemBuilder();
1 Like

You’ll want to take a look at @mumfrey’s great pull request for the inventory API

It’s an incredibly large thing to add to the documentation but it’s on the TODO

I’m not completely sure on how to use the inventory API myself, but I think you do something like this:
ItemStack itemStack = player.getInventory().query(Hotbar.class).query(new SlotIndex(8)).peek().get();

ItemStackBuilder is just a builder, see Builder Pattern:

To make an ItemStack of 64 diamonds, you do
ItemStack diamondStack = builder.itemType(ItemTypes.DIAMOND).quantity(64).build();