Inventory Slots

Hey there!
I’m new to sponge developing and I want to put an item in a specific slot.
How do I get the item in a slot? Or how do I set the item in a slot?
Thanks!

Inventory inv;
GridInventory gridInv = inv.getInventoryProperty(GrIdInventory.class);
Slot slot = gridInv.getSlot(x, y).get();

//Get itemstack in slot
Optional<ItemStack> opItem = slot.peek();

//Set itemstack in slot
ItemStack item;
slot.set(item);

Please note i am doing this from memory so some of the functions may have typos and may not return exactly. But currently on my phone so no ide to check

@MoseMister
GridInventory isn’t an InventoryProperty, so that won’t compile. But you’re on the right track.

@AwPer_Dev
First, it’s important to know what the context is behind what you’re doing - the methods for working with an inventory differ based on whether you have a chest, a player’s inventory, or some other implementation. An inventory is a combination of 0, 1, or more slots and contains multiple layers, so you need to specify what you’re looking for through queries.

For example, the player’s inventory (player.getInventory()) contains multiple inventories - the main inventory, the hotbar, the player’s armor, and potentially more as a result of mods. To target a specific slot, you need to first query the part of inventory you’re interested in. For simplicities sake, I’m looking for the top left slot of the player’s main inventory. We can get that using:

Inventory main = player.getInventory().query(MainPlayerInventory.class);

At this point, the inventory we have could be one of three things:

• An empty inventory, if there was no match in the query (in this case, that shouldn’t happen - but you never know thanks to mods).
  • A single MainPlayerInventory object representing the player’s main inventory
  • An InventoryAdaptor containing multiple MainPlayerInventory objects, one of which is (hopefully) the player’s main inventory (also shouldn’t happen, but… mods :confused:)