Looking for recommendations for RolePlay

Hi Everyone,

I’d like to start out by saying I am very new to Sponge. I was hoping to get some help/recommendations on which plugins to use for an RP server. I am a little confused by the API versions and unsure if they matter?

I would like to have some sort of World guard, permissions, essentials, economy, plotting for player homes, jobs, and maybe a proximity chat? Any other recommendations would be awesome.

Right now this is what I am thinking about, not sure if they are compatible though. LuckPerms, GriefPrevention, UltimateCore, Total Economy 1.7, CarrotShop, AdventureMMO if possible? Still trying to find a proximity chat.

Thanks to everyone!

Api versions are very important. Essentially how they work is you will have a api version for your sponge and a plugin will have a api version it is compatible with.

Lets say you have Sponge api 7.1. Now this means you can run any plugin that has api 7.1 as a supported version, if you try and run a plugin that is only compatible with api 6 or 8 that will not work.

The second number (the 1 out of 7.1) is the update of that api version. This essentially means that if you find a plugin compatible with api 7.0 it will run on your 7.1 server because the server is running the 2nd version of api 7. That being said you will not be able to run api 7.2 with that sponge version. However if you get a sponge 7.2 you will be able to run 7.2 as well as 7.1 and 7.0 plugins.

Does that make sense?

As for plugins, Im not the help you want, i just develop for Sponge

1 Like

Makes complete sense. Thanks for the help again Mose, you da best!!

1 Like

Sponge doesn’t have the wide options of plugins that Bukkit does have, but here’s some of my recommendations, based on what you seem to be after.

Permissions > LuckPerms
Essentials > Nucleus
World Guard > Grief Prevention
Economy > Total Economy
Sign Shops > CarrotShop

I also recommend:
ActiveTime - Logs player times