Proper Way to Create sub-commands and their permissions?

Looking at Sponge and all of its structure, I can see that you guys are writing really robust software here (as well as forcing me to learn Java 8). Because of this, I am wondering if sponge has built in support for subcommands. Say I have a command that is ‘/example’. If I want to be able to do things like ‘/example version’ and ‘/example help’ and ‘/example test’. Is there a way to register different commands as subcommands as others or do I need to make my own handler and just have the subcommands be arguments? That seems do-able. The only problem is… how do I handle the permissions for such subcommands? Using the last example, how could I make it so that ‘/example version’ uses permission ‘example.version’ and ‘/example help’ uses ‘example.help’ and ‘/example test’ uses ‘example.test’. Also, can this be modular even further (‘example.test.foo’, ‘example.test.bar’)?

One more unrelated thing, I’m kinda new to sponge and I noticed that the SpongeVanilla and SpongeForge downloads are both supposedly on SpongeAPI 6.0.0 but there is no download for API 6. What’s up with that?

CommandSpec version = CommandSpec.builder()
    .executor(this::version)
    .permission("example.version")
    .build();
CommandSpec help = CommandSpec.builder()
    .executor(this::help)
    .permission("example.help")
    .build();
CommandSpec example = CommandSpec.builder()
    .executor(this::example)
    .child(version, "version")
    .child(help, "help")
    .build();

Note that for parent commands, you don’t even need an executor() if you don’t ever intend for it to be run by itself.

As for the API, if you’re using a build system you shouldn’t need an API download. The current stable release, however, is API 5, which most plugins are for.

Yeah, I’m using gradle, I was just looking at the downloads page. Also, do I only register the parent command or do I register the children separately as well?