Tutorial on foundations of the mod engine

Some of the long-time readers/users of the Sponge site will know my background. But I think over the 5+ years of sponge (has it been that long!!??) do not quite have the full story.

I’m 50. I’ve been a software engineer for 28 years. I primarily do embedded software in C/C++ and ARM assembly for the most part. But I was there (think scene when Elrond was flash-backing on the failure of Men to destroy the One Ring) back when Java was introduced. I was big into Java then, Java 1.0. I think I was doing Java as late as 1997 but I cannot remember for sure. I do remember being in some Seattle Java Users Group meeting when some grey-beards were talking about this new thing called Swing. Ah those were the days.

But the point is, I know software from the magic sand up to the button-click. If it is made out of silicon, has an instruction set, then I’ve probably written code for it, or like it.

Fast forward to 2011-12 when my son was old enough then to start playing Minecraft. Then all hell broke loose. Now I’m building servers, making mod-packs and causing all sorts of shenanigans. Let’s fast forward a bit more past my brief but very enjoyable Sponge days.

A lot of time past, some of it due to the nature of being older and having heart-issues, but I’ve recovered! I’m OK again.

Now I’m at the point where I have a bucket list. One of the items in my bucket list (pun not intended) is to understand exactly and with precise detail how Minecraft (the actual software, the .jar file) is torn apart, decompiled and analyzed so that the hook and byte-code rewrites allow for a Mod (like Sponge, not a plugin on top of Sponge) is actually hooked into the game so that events, and call-backs and etc… are invoked in the Mod.