Tutorials to learn how to develop plugins for SpongeAPI?

I’m currently learning how to code in Java and I’m coming to a point where I will like to learn how to code plugins for the SpongeAPI. I didn’t find a lot of tutorials in video or by text for complete beginners to the Minecraft development community. So this topic is here for two reasons.

First, I wanted to know if you have tutorials to advise me with in mind that I am a beginner in Minecraft development.

Second, I learn Java at Treehouse and I recently made a request for tutorials on Minecraft mods and plugins developement. They add it to the Treehouse Java Content Roadmap and I think that it will be cool if you can vote for this request.

Thanks in advance to all for your advices and your remarks !

The SpongeDocs are always a good place to start. There are a few [Tutorials] (Tutorials — Sponge 7.2.0 documentation) on setting up the IDE, and plenty of pages with example code.

I’d advised you wait until you can so “I have already learned Java” before you start developing SpongeAPI plugins. SpongeAPI is not only an advanced API, but, though awesome, has it’s own set of (awesome) conventions and ideas that are not necessarily part of the main java language. Furthermore, questions on the plugin-development page which ask for java help, or are the result of a misunderstanding of the java language, are frowned upon. Though, it does depend on how advanced you are at the moment. If you understand classes, methods, fields, class hierarchies, polymorphism, modifiers (public, private, protected, static, final, etc.), program flow (if, while, do-while, for, for-each, switch, try-catch, try-catch-finally, try-with-resource), have a decent understanding of what threading is and some of the problems multi-threading can cause if used improperly, know the java naming conventions, understand java 8 features, and know what annotations are and how to apply them.