What to build off of: Spigot/Bukkit or Sponge?

Hello all! Currently in the very early stages of planning a new Minecraft server with a few friends. Several of us are coming off of a year long hiatus after we got burnt by our original server owner taking the money from our initial opening and running. That being said, I’ve had very little experience with Minecraft server administration for almost a year now. Before then, I used to work on servers here and there assisting with plugin management and even providing specifics for plugin development. So, there’s of my group’s background.

During the hiatus, I did hear about the calamity with Bukkit, and its slow downfall ever since. So, the question is what platform I should start the server on, and how soon should I plan for a transition to what I would guess be Sponge on its official stable release? I’m assuming most people are currently running Spigot, and considering this is the forums for Sponge Project, a good majority of server admins here plan to eventually transition. While I know an exact date cannot be promised for Sponge’s release, is there a potential window determined so I could plan a safe transition to the new platform in advance for this new server? In addition to this, I’ve heard of a Sponge/Bukkit API… Could anyone care to elaborate for me? Really, I’m just trying to catch up on all of the necessary information for server administrators that I have lost out on over the last year. For any help, thanks in advance!

P.S. Being a Computer Science major, I’ve also begun to dabble in Java. Which platform (Bukkit/Spigot or Sponge) should I direct my attention to as far as creating custom plugins go?

This is the same as asking on a Microsoft support forum if you should use Windows or Linux.