I have been trying to get started on some projects

Hello Everyone,

The name is Dunge,

I am posting here cause I am not aware where this post fits in. I was wanting to discuss a possibility. I for the greater part of a year have been looking up information on the java language (as there is alot posted on the net.). I would like to try my hand at either plugin creation or modding.

I have been working on setting up for both. However I have had issues with both in the past. My first attempt at this was with bukkit. I was able to setup a basic starting point and done several hello world projects. However I want to be able to add new content to the game. I do have some initial knowledge on how stuff works.

I have some knowledge on scripting. I once wrote an entirely text based game in dos back in 2003. Of course since then dos has become obsolete. I want to do more than just text based stuff.

I have been really wanting to add new blocks and create functions with new blocks. I also would like to aquire knowledge on APIs and how to create one should a need for me to do so arise. So what I am asking is this.

Would anyone be willing to show me in the right path to helping me figure out where to go for the info I seek. I would also be willing to accept assistance with my future plans as well.

I am also happy to see that the community has answered the question of #whatNext. I was a bit worried :smiley:

I usually play on a vanilla server that has been around since alpha build of mc and they too have just put things on hold till a solution is produced.

I have been learning quite a bit from that community. At Least for bukkit that is. Now with the new project that has surfaced I do want to get involved in some way to further my knowledge.

I have been asking myself the last few months these few questions about my project.

Q. Do I want to create plugins or mods?