Serializing a single item. java.lang.Byte

I’m still learning how to make sponge plugins, so require some guidance.

Have the following code:

public class getHand implements CommandExecutor {
    @Override
    public CommandResult execute(CommandSource src, CommandContext args) throws CommandException{
        TypeSerializers.getDefaultSerializers();
        if(!(src instanceof Player)) {
            src.sendMessage(Text.of("Can only be run by players"));
            return CommandResult.success();
        }
        Player player = (Player) src;
        ItemStack item = player.getItemInHand(HandTypes.MAIN_HAND).get();
        try {
            String serializeItem = serializeItem(item);
            player.sendMessage(Text.of(serializeItem));
        } catch (IOException | ObjectMappingException err) {
            player.sendMessage(Text.of(new Object[]{TextColors.RED, "Error: ", err.getMessage()}));
        }
        return CommandResult.success();
    }
    public static String serializeItem(ItemStack item) throws ObjectMappingException, IOException {
        ConfigurationNode node = GsonConfigurationLoader.builder().build().createEmptyNode();
        StringWriter stringWriter = new StringWriter();
        node.setValue(TypeToken.of(ItemStack.class), item);
        GsonConfigurationLoader.builder().setSink(() -> {
            return new BufferedWriter(stringWriter);
        }).setIndent(0).build().save(node);
        return stringWriter.toString();
    }
}

It’s just to get a string containing item information. Works for most items, however when faced with a pokecube containing a pokemon, I get “java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Configuration does not accept objects of type class java.lang.Byte”

Same error can be seen here:

However, I’m having problems understanding what @BrainStone did to fix the problem. I took a brief look at his code, to see what the fix was, but it seems to have changed so much.

First, a few unrelated things:

This does nothing at all.