Sponge Should Have a GUI

Sponge should run with a java window like the minecraft_server.jar.

Why?

if certain server owners don’t have a Web Panel then its easy for them to monitor RAM
and CPU usage as well as the Average Tick Count (I think)

Im not too sure if it would be useful because a lot of plugins have a /lag, /tps or /debug command in-game.

3 Likes

That’s not what he means. The original minecraft_server.jar has an option to launch as a gui console rather than the normal console. It’s the same thing than the console but it shows CPU, RAM usage, etc.

1 Like

No, it will not implement the minecraft_server.jar source because of all that legal stuff with Bukkit, I mean the server should have a similar GUI that the minecraft_server.jar has instead of a Cmd/Terminal Window it could have its own window that looks like this:

2 Likes

Yeah, thats right

Forge has that GUI, so sponge will. Problem solved :smile:.

1 Like

Great, Im not too experienced with forge, only Bukkit

1 Like

Here it is, looks just like Vanillas; although it’s missing the Threading and Chunk cash infos, this could be corrected.

Could also due with some perdifying.

1 Like

Also, There Should Be Colour support for things like Prefixes, Suffixes, Warnings, Broadcast, etc.

The Bukkit Console/Terminal window implements colour.

And Why This?

[12:33:37] [Server thread/INFO] [net.minecraft.server.dedicated.DedicatedServer] : Loading properties

Surely the Sponge Team could condense it to:

[12:33:37] [Server thread/INFO] [Sponge] : Loading properties
2 Likes

Sponge is mainly a mod for forge that provide server api’s for plugins.
You can think of it as a core mod.

Providing a gui for console and such would not be done through the plugin. It would be done through forge.

Well then the forge GUI could due with some perdifying. I’ll poke around with that on the forge forums.

1 Like